Storyboard for video

A storyboard is a visual plan of what you envisage to include in a film. This is a great way to tell the story of your film and to help to see how it will unfold.

I did not draw a storyboard before filming as my technique involved ‘machine-gun’ filming. I needed to capture as much as possible while the conditions were good and then think about editing to make a story afterwards.

I have done an example as to how my storyboard could have been set out:

 

PhotoScan.jpg

I began with a wide open shot to set the scene and then focused in on the action. My final picture shows a lone surfer closing the film as he approaches the shore.

I have also included an example of a Hazard Assessment. I hadn’t really considered this until Breon produced the form. On reflection, the location where I decided to film was rather precarious.

risk-assessment

Leave a Reply

