Hornsea Voxpop

“Victimised over my displays of veg”

countdown-photo_t

In response to an article that appeared in the Hull Daily Mail on Monday, 31st October 2016, with regards to a shopkeeper displaying fruit and vegetable on the pavement, I went into Hornsea town centre to ask people their opinions.

susan_t

Susan Sheard, Cleaner, Hornsea

“I think it’s very greedy, he sells everything and there’s a fruit and veg shop up the road. He’s taking their trade. I pass every day and sometimes I have to step into the road. It’s very dangerous, why can’t he take it inside.”

lady_t

Ann, Caravaner, from Leeds

“You wanna go to Leeds, where the Asians are, they’ve taken over the whole streets. That’s in Harehills, that’s where you wanna be. You can’t get by on the pavement, every shop you’re trying to squeeze passed.”

e-cigs_t

Carl, E-cigarette Retailer, Hornsea

“I don’t think it’s a good idea. You don’t know what you’re gona find in them really…bugs or ought like that. My mum buys fruit and veg from there she knows them quite well.”

lady-outside-countdown_t

Mavis, from Bradford, now retired in Hornsea

“It doesn’t bother me. I buy fruit and veg there…just make sure I wash it. Where I come from there’s stuff on the pavement all over the place..just seems alright, normal.”

couple_t

Ray and Carol, Retired Couple from Hornsea

“We don’t like it.”
“I always think of those little trolley things. It’s a terrible part of the road down there. People with prams and that. I don’t think they ought to be able to do it” (Carol)

tesco-man_t

Matthew, Carpenter, Hornsea

“I don’t like the shop. I wouldn’t go there. It’s second rated produce being displayed. Car exhaust fumes, and dogs …issng all over it.”

lady-in-hat_t

Hanna, Visitor from Essex

“I don’t see there’s a problem with it. I’ve been brought up with it, I’ve seen things like that ever since I was young,
so I don’t think it’s a problem at all.”

lydia_t

Lydia, Retired Cook, Hornsea

“Disgusting, nothing else to say, it’s disgusting!”

alvin_t

Alvin Wilkinson, the Proprietor of Countdown, had his say…..

“I have made it smaller, narrowed it down. I spent three hours this morning doing that. Now it’s resting on the window ledge of the shop.”

Leave a Reply

